Understanding who was at fault in a car accident means finding out who was negligent and thus liable for causing the accident. Failure to take due care when driving a motor vehicle constitutes negligence.
There are also other important key considerations such as certain timelines that need to be looked after in a car accident case which the Boston car accident attorneys at the Bellotti Law Group, P.C. will further discuss.
Reporting a Boston Car Accident
In Boston and across Massachusetts, the law states that you have five days to report an accident in case of injury, death, or more than $1,000 worth of damage. You are expected to file a Motor Vehicle Accident Operator Report within five days, even if the law enforcement officials were at the scene of the accident.
You must report to the Registrar within 5 days of such an accident. Exceptions apply if the person is physically unable to do so due to incapacity. The person completing the report must also submit a copy of the report to the police department concerned for the manner wherein the accident occurred. If the operator is injured but is not the owner of the car, the owner must send the crash report within 5 days based on his/her experience and facts about the accident.
The Registrar may require the owner or operator to complete the report and may revoke or suspend the license of any person breaching any provision of this legal requirement. The police department must consider a report filed by the owner or operator whose car has been involved in an accident in which another person has improperly left the scene, even though the damage to the vehicle does not exceed $1,000. A Boston Car accident lawyer at the Bellotti Law Group, P.C. can assist you with this endeavor!
Boston, Massachusetts Statute of Limitations For Car Accidents
For most people involved in a car accident in Massachusetts, the limitation period would start to run on the day of the accident.
If you miss the time limit established by this law and attempt to file your claim after the time limit has expired, the Massachusetts court system is almost inclined to dismiss your case, unless a special exception is made to extend the time limit.
In Massachusetts, if anyone has been involved in a car accident—whether a driver, a passenger, a motorcycle rider, a biker, or a pedestrian—they must have their case filed within three years (with exceptions) of the date of the accident, according to General Laws of Massachusetts, Chapter 260, Section 2A. The same statute-and the same three-year period-applies to a case seeking liability for car damage.
It is important to consider and comply with the statute of limitations as it relates to your potential car accident case.
Contact a Boston Car Accident Lawyer
Time is key a key factor in car accident cases. You do not have an indefinite period in which to file your case, and the sooner you consult with one of our experienced car accident attorneys, the sooner we can move to preserve and collect evidence, and protect your rights.